What is Stopping You?

All I wanted to do, was to go to the chapel. I had some important decisions coming up in various parts of my life, that I just needed God’s guidance on and I wanted to be in His presence. But life decided otherwise.

Monday morning, I said to myself  “Okay, today’s the day I go”. Get to college and get messages from almost everyone I know, asking for help on power points and assignments. By the time I was done…it was too late..

Okay I said, that’s okay. It happens. I will definitely go to the chapel tomorrow!

Tuesday morning arrives, and brings buckets of rain with it. And me, well I forgot my umbrella, and hence my perfectly straighten hair stood at 90 degree angles to my scalp. I dug into my bag to look for my bible and journal, only to find out that I had forgotten them at home. By this time, my head was pounding from getting wet. I was also reminded by my friend I had an assignment due the next day, which I had completely forgotten to print out and I had no money on my card to print. To top it all off, a friend who I thought was close to me messaged me after ages and asked how I was. “Great!” I thought. The next messages followed saying “So about that assignment, could I see a copy of yours?” “Great!” I thought, “It was too good to be true!”

I ended up messaging a another friend and saying “I feel like there’s something stopping me from going to the chapel”, which was followed by my sob story of everything that had happened. She messaged back saying “Hmm..I feel like the only thing stopping you from going is you.” And she was right. All I wanted to do was walk a couple meters to the chapel to be in God’s presence and life was dishing out all different colored issues to stand in my way, so I could choose to let that hold me back, or fight against it. 

But that’s what happens when we want to willingly go and seek out God and His guidance, because the devil does not want us too. If he can do anything he can to change our minds, he will. It’s so easy to let all the little things build up and change our minds, and make us put off spending time with God, when really that should be at the top of our list, come what may. It is those moments that we truly find God, and can hear His voice when we chose to walk the path even though it is hard.

I did end up going to the chapel. I did pray. I did sing. I did worship. It was just me, in a simple wooden room, with the cross hanging up above my head. Every time I looked up, I could see Jesus hanging on the cross, because He loved me. It gave me a strength, that just merely praying at home or casually reading the bible could not give me. It was just me and God and His presence completely filling the room.

"Be still and know that I am God"- Psalm 46:10

If something is stopping you from spending time with God today, please, put everything down, shut everything off and sit at the feet of Jesus. That will give us the strength to face a life, that will throw anything and everything at us. The only thing stopping you, is you.

Stay Blessed,

Sarah.

One thought on “What is Stopping You?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.